Author Topic: The Christmas Party Conundrum-Long (It's been simmering a while)  (Read 14726 times)

crella

Hi, crella here, this is my first time to post  a topic. My annual Christmas coffee for the neighbors got out of hand this year. Some of it was people who meant well (but who wouldn't listen), and some was rudeness and I'm already in a snit as what to do about this year's party  ;D

It started out simply enough. We moved into a house that many of the ladies in the neighborhood were curious about. It's sort of a Victorian, common enough in the US, but rare here. I walk my dog with a nice group of ladies, I thought I'd have them over for coffee at Christmas, it would give me 4 months after moving to get us settled, and the house is prettiest when decorated. I invited my dog walking friends the first year, we had 10 people. Great. The second year, one of the dog-walking friends invited one of her friends ('I'), that's fine too, she asked me, I knew the lady and said 'Sure'...

The third year 'I' asked if the neighborhood chorus could come.  I knew 6 out of 8 members and those 6 have always come anyway, so again I said 'Oh sure'. They asked if they could sing, and did. They sang two songs, it was a nice time.

This year....hoo boy. The chorus group has grown to 13 members and they all came (I'm not in chorus and didn't know).  Some of them I hardly know. Past members also came. Others people brought their kids (school was out). We had almost 30 people, it was a squeeze, but still doable.