News: IT'S THE 2ND ANNUAL GUATEMALA LIBRARY PROJECT BOOK DRIVE!    LOOKING FOR DONATIONS OF SCIENCE BOOKS THIS YEAR.    Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• June 27, 2017, 09:17:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Any advice on repairing books?  (Read 772 times)

atirial

• just 'plane mad
    • Tirial & Errror blog
Any advice on repairing books?
« on: June 03, 2017, 10:55:56 AM »
We've finally got our storgae space set up to take our books so we can get then out of storage. Unfortunately two of the boxes weren't secure and while there is no direct damp damage there are speckles on the page edges, and thick layers of dust. Can this be repaired? I'm an amateur at book binding and repair, but most of what I know won't really help in this case. The books are paperbacks or have printed covers, no leatherbounds or anything like that. Most just have sentimental value, so we'd like to save them if we can.

Thipu1

Re: Any advice on repairing books?
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2017, 11:28:39 AM »
We've finally got our storgae space set up to take our books so we can get then out of storage. Unfortunately two of the boxes weren't secure and while there is no direct damp damage there are speckles on the page edges, and thick layers of dust. Can this be repaired? I'm an amateur at book binding and repair, but most of what I know won't really help in this case. The books are paperbacks or have printed covers, no leatherbounds or anything like that. Most just have sentimental value, so we'd like to save them if we can.

The books can probably be repaired but, since they are paperbacks, the cost of repair may not be worth it.  I suggest you ask your local library for advice.  At the least, the library can direct you to local reliable sources of archival supplies.       

atirial

• just 'plane mad
    • Tirial & Errror blog