Author Topic: How to get back into College  (Read 1249 times)

Jocelyn

Re: How to get back into College
« Reply #30 on: July 04, 2014, 11:44:01 AM »
I'm glad someone asked this question, as I too have been thinking about going back to school. I've browsed college websites, but I wonder how much if any of my previous schooling would count for anything? I graduated H.S.and did some college, but it was 15+ years ago. Should I just start over as though I've not done any post-secondary at all?Depends. How crucial is that topic to your degree, and how much have you used the information from the class over the years? For example, it might be worth it to repeat a math class if your major is in the sciences. If you've had jobs that used writing skills, you might not need to repeat English composition. How do I go about obtaining my ancient transcripts? Contact the registrar's office at your former university.Is a full-rounded core curriculum necessary? Depends upon the requirements of the school you're enrolling in. If this is a state school, the requirements were set by the Board of Regents or some other authority above the university, so they're limited in their ability to play Let's Make a Deal. For example, if 'History of Our State' is one of the options and you took state history in another state, no one at the university will have the power to accept that. Are huge ridiculously expensive textbooks still used, or is everything online now (and does one still pay huge costs for E-books?) Yes.  ::) It depends upon the university. At my current school, students rent textbooks, and the price is based on the number of credit hours. At Amazon, the rental boprice is based on the price of the text. Ebooks are always cheaper than paper books, and more and more books are being published as ebooks. Professors are more likely to give you links to articles online than they have in the past, due to concerns about copyright I kind of dread campus life only because I know non-tradition