Author Topic: Do I need to reveal that I was engaged?  (Read 5515 times)

MariaE

• So many books, so little time
Re: Do I need to reveal that I was engaged?
« Reply #75 on: Yesterday at 11:14:06 AM »
I'm glad that works for your and your DH. Personally I'd be seeing orange flags all over the place if my DH felt the same. It's obviously not a "one solution fits all" situation.

Dane by birth, Kiwi by choice

Another Sarah

« Reply #76 on: Yesterday at 11:40:11 AM »
Contrast these two ways of telling the story:

1) "I love playing basketball!  I started playing in a three on three league back in the early 1990s and have moved teams in various ways since then."

2) "I love playing basketball!  My ex-wife's brother asked me to play on a three on three league with him right after my ex-wife took a new job where she was working on Tuesday nights.  This was where she met the guy she ended up cheating on me with.  So when that happened I went to a different three on three league and met Charlie, whose sister I dated after my divorce."

Both are true. One conveys a love for basketball and that he played in three on three leagues.  The other conveys a subtle "I am not over this" vibe that creates a lot of questions....none about basketball.

See to me, this is what they would sound like:
1) "story"
"So why did you move?"
"Oh well my ex wife met the guy she was cheating on me with while I was playing basketball with her brother so I swapped leagues"
Me thinking oooookay, never mention basketball again unless you want a litany of cheating stories

2) "story"
Me thinking just too much information - none of the discussion about exes is about basketball

3) "I love basketball, I used to play in three on three league 1 with ex-wife's brother but moved to league 2 where I met Charlie"
complete non-event